An Introduction to 9 Star Ki

Posted in:

Feng Shui Principles


Mar 13, 2021

An introduction to 9 Star Ki

(Nine) 9 Star Ki, pronounced ‘ kee‘ is a form of astrology that uses the numbers 1 to 9 associated with the Lo Shu magic square (above). The Lo Shu square is a famous and arguably the oldest Feng Shui tool, dating back to around 2000 BC. In its original layout all numbers in either row, column or diagonally add together to make 15.

Nine Star Ki provides three stars in total for your chart: a ‘Principal’ star, ‘Character/Child’ star and ‘Energetic’ star. The Principle Star relates to our basic energetic foundation, the Character star until the age of 18 and as adults, what we revert to under pressure, and our Energetic star is our energy that others perceive on first meeting us.

The stars move from their original positions in the Ki Map as time passes, creating a cyclical 9 step formulae. The stars ‘fly’ around the grid in sequence from year to year, month to month and also day by day. This allows us to discover which energy or star is influencing our own at any given time. Our Principle star is determined by the number that is central on the Lo Shu Square the year we are born).